Theme Inspiration: Clean + Classic

I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t have a private Pinterest board full of well-styled wedding photos nearly always open for scrolling on my iPhone.

The venue and the dress are critical first steps, but let’s be serious… the “theme” (or if you don’t want to call it that, the “look” or “style”) is what’s going to smack everyone in the face when they waltz into your space, ready to get their party on.

What sort of style do you imagine when you picture your reception?

  • Modern and Chic
  • Soft and Romantic
  • Industrial and Edgy

Ever since we booked our venue, I’ve been envisioning a theme that will offset the space and ensure a clean and sophisticated look. What’s been bouncing around in my head for the past few weeks, I’ve come to find, is often referred to as Gatsby-esque, but I’m going to stick with my “classic and classic” moniker instead.

I’m feeling all sorts of clean-lined black and white, especially in the form of table runners. In my mind, I’m laying those on top of black linen tablecloths and pairing both with gold metal accents. Think romantic white flowers and heavy gold candelabras. Gold-lined menus and black-ink calligraphy placecards. Sleek, gold utensils. Wait, I asked about that and it would be a $6 upgrade per person… so, scratch the gold utensils. You get the idea.

And just in case you don’t…

(That black-and-white dance floor though!)

Modern Wedding, Black and White Wedding

Sources (clockwise, starting at top left): Mod Wedding | Style Me Pretty | Jupiter and Juno | Style Me Pretty | Freixenet |

Leave a Reply

