Save the Dates: Q&A

On a scale of 1 to 10, my excitement level for our Save the Dates is an 11. And the worst part is that I have no clue why these heavy cardstock mailers make me so happy. I’m going to guess that my glee is driven by this being the first, official wedding communication. If I could send it with a small air horn attached, I might.

Want to peek?

Wedding Paper Divas Save the Date Detroit

I ended up ordering these lovelies from Wedding Paper Divas (Breezily Brushed design in Signature Matte paper) and while the branding on the back still makes me want to scream, I’ve come to terms with the fact that it is, after all, a damn save the date card.

While these Detroit riverfront photos aren’t my favorite from the shoot, I have plans in store for the others already 😉 Plus, most of our photos included either Trevor or I not looking directly into the camera… which means that family of his who I may have never met would be all, “Who is that girl and where’s Trevor’s face?” Fair enough. For that reason, and that reason alone, I was stuck choosing from designs that paired well with these photo layouts, in which you can clearly see us both, albeit at a distance.

All this Save the Date planning, however, left me with a few questions. I’m answering some of these Qs here in case it helps with your planning…

  • Does your Save the Date design need to match the design of your invitations? 
    Nope! (And isn’t it a relief?) I’d recommend choosing a design or “tone” that matches the general formality of the affair. In other words, select a fancier Save the Date design for a formal black-tie fete, or opt for a less-fussy magnet with bright colors if you plan to have guests kicking their shoes off.
  • At what point should you send out your Save the Date?
    There are mixed thoughts on exactly when your Save the Dates should hit the mail, but if the wedding is local and won’t be drawing in a ton of out-of-towners, I’d suggest mailing 4 – 5 months in advance. Will half your attendees be flying in? Get it to them no later than six months out. And if you’re planning a destination wedding, send them as soon as you’ve put down your deposit (anytime between 6 – 9 months) so that folks have plenty of time to plan for travel.
  • Should Save the Dates be sent to all invitees?
    Yes. But don’t worry about addressing “guests” or the like on this type of correspondence. Consider it a causal heads up for your friends and family. And if you have more than one set of guest(s) in one home, send only one Save the Date.
  • What should you include on the Save the Date?
    The date! Doh. But really, other than that, it’s entirely up to you. I prefer designs with photos so that I can throw those beauties up on the fridge, but what’s most important is that the piece reflects you and your spouse-to-be. Most folks include the location of the venue and many others include the wedding website, too.
Leave a Reply

