Marking “Year One”

IMG_8171

We did a fantastic job of chronicling our first year of marriage … on Facebook. God forbid that site goes down in a fiery storm some day; all of our photos would be entirely lost! To preserve *some* of them, I turned to Zno.com (where I ordered our wedding album, which I adore) for a 15-page lay-flat book that I could populate with pics from our travels and festivities over the first 365 days.

As you can see in the photo above, I opted to add a title along the binding that’s just a little bit blunt. My vision is that in a decade, we’ll have a pretty little set of black linen books, marking each of our first 10 years. (Let’s hope that Zno stays in business for a long time so that my Type A personality can achieve matching albums!)

To attempt to make it a little bit easier on myself, as soon as I finished this album, I created another identical “project” on the website that I can pop into when I have time and continuously add photos to throughout “Year Two.” Now that I think about it, maybe I should set a monthly reminder on my iPhone …

Anyway. Photo albums not your thing? A few other ideas that I think would help to track the years nicely:

  • Annual Christmas or holiday ornament to adorn your tree
  • A journal in which each year gets a one-page summary or highlights reel from both of you
  • An add-to-it collection (think of a glass vase or trinket box with a shell added from a beach vacation each year)

What ways do you celebrate and document your passing years?

Leave a Reply

